In order to ensure effective and efficient delivery of legal services, the governing boards of four Agencies under the Office of the Attorney General and Ministry of Justice – General Legal Council, Law Reform Commission, Legal Aid Scheme and Council for Law Reporting - have been duly inaugurated in Accra.

Gloria Akuffo, the Attorney General and Minister of Justice in her remarks urged members of the boards to work on inadequacies within the sector particularly those pertaining to under staffing and backlog of remunerations.

She acknowledged the expertise of  the boards and appealed to each member to put their hands to the plough, adding “….Attorneys had been on strike even before I took office…..but I trust together we can make an impact.”

Members of the boards were respectively thankful to the Attorney General and sector Minister for reposing confidence in them and pledged never to let government down.

“We consider it an opportunity to serve the country….with your support, we shall not disappoint you,” Justice Anin-Yeboah, Chairman of the Legal Aid Scheme board stated.

Justice Kweku Ackaah Boafo administered both oath of office and that of secrecy to which members of the boards agreed inter-alia that they would at all times serve the Republic of Ghana; and will not directly or indirectly communicate or reveal to any person any matter which shall be brought under their consideration or knowledge in the discharge of their official duties except as may be specially permitted by law.

Members of the boards include:


  1. Justice Dr. S.K Date-Baah (Chairman)
  2. Justice Hoenyenuga
  3. Mr. Anthony Akoto Ampaw
  4. Mr. Ace Ankomah
  5. Mr. Raymond Stephen Dapaah Addo
  6. Dr. Esi Ansah
  7. Prof. H.Kwasi Prempeh
  8. Mrs. Anita M.H Ababio


  1. Justice Anin-Yeboah (Chairman)
  2. Mrs. Helen A.A Ziwu
  3. Mr.Anthony Forson Jnr.
  4. Mr A.Y Seini
  5. Mr. Kwamina Baiden Esq.
  6. Mr.Kwasi Prempeh-Eck
  7. Mr.Seidu Kotomah
  8. Mrs. Joyce Attafuah
  9. Naa Odofoley Nortey
  10. Ms. Mina Mensah
  11. Mr. Benjamin Akonu Otoo


  1. His Lordship Justice A.A Benin (Chairman)
  2. Mrs. Magaret Welbourne
  3. Mr. Anthony Forson Jnr.
  4. Mr. Benjamin N.T Ashong-Katai
  5. Ms. Joyce N.N Oku
  6. Dr. Samuel O. Manteaw


  1. Hon. Gloria Afua Akuffo (Miss)
  2. Hon. Godfred Yeboah Dame
  3. Justice Jones V.M Dotse
  4. Helen Awo Akpene Ziwu (Mrs.)
  5. Michael Nimako (Mr.)
  6. Yaw Acheampong Boafo Esq. (Mr.)
  7. Peter Zwennes (Mr.)
  8. Kwaku Asirifie (Mr.)